Super WIP Wednesday

I have spent much of the last week finishing some of my WIPs. Some of these were started a month ago, while others are 8 months old. 

The butterfly on the upper left is the oldest of my WIPs and was started in July of last year. The pattern is from the book Voodoo Maggie’s Adorable Amigurumi: Cute and Quirky Crocheted Critters by Erin Clark. The creatures in the book are super adorable, but the patterns are TERRIBLY written. For a long time, I thought that I finally needed to get stitch markers because I was either dropping or adding stitches all over the place, thus the most likely explanation was that I was simply losing count (it is very frustrating that the book does not include stitch counts at the end of each row). However, I read many reviews from others– including people who have been crocheting for decades– and they were having the same problems. A couple of people asked if this book was even pattern-checked and edited. Nevertheless, the creatures are quite cute, and I keep referring to the book to make toys for my friends’ children.

The bottom picture of the collage is a temperature scarf, which I have been working on since January (it’s been a very warm winter, so my need for a scarf hasn’t been very great). The temperature scarf is not a new idea: it was a CAL/KAL (crochet-along/knit-along, respectively) on Yarnspirations in 2013. Each row of the scarf represents a single day, and different colors represent a range of temperatures. The newer iteration of the idea is the temperature afghan, but to be honest, it’s been a lifelong struggle for me to have the patience for big, long-term projects. My scarf tracks each day’s temperature from my first year of marriage. I wanted to switch things up, so I used the tweed stitch— which I had never used before– to make things more interesting.

I’m super excited about the doll with green eyes, as I have been developing my own patterns for miniature, free-standing dolls. I first got the idea to make these types of dolls after an old friend of mine got engaged. I had made cake toppers for my wedding cake, and the patterns were based off of motifs found in one of my favorite books, Creepy Cute Crochet by Christen Haden. I wanted to make something similar for my friend, but I wanted to go beyond a simple head and body. These new dolls draw a lot of inspiration from another great crochet book, AmiguruME: Make Cute Crochet People by Allison Hoffman. I made the wedding dolls first, and used my self-portrait doll to improve the pattern for a female figure (which, in retrospect, is kind of backwards). The biggest thing I learned with the newest dolls is that the head needs to be slightly bigger.

Cake toppers

Sorry, I can’t help but share my cake toppers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

