WIP Wednesday – A farewell hat

The two things I have been working on this week have led to a bit of pain in the fingers and wrist of my right hand. I put down my projects over the weekend and played copious amounts of Minecraft with my husband, and though my hand felt good again on Monday, it is now sore again. I’ve been reflecting a lot lately on how I am getting older (I am going to be an ancient 30 in July), and I thought that this might be a sign of that. In an effort to find relief, I did what everyone does: I Googled it. It turns out pain from repetitive motion is very common amongst people of all ages, as well as from gripping your hook too tightly or finger position can also contribute to pain. I found some useful articles about warm-up stretches and exercises, how to prevent pain, and treating pain. But I digress. Why have I been in pain for the last week? Because I have been making a hat for a coworker who is moving on to other things after the end of this week. Even though winter is technically over, she hates the cold and snow, and I am hoping that she can get some good use out of a thick cable-crochet hat in future winters.

I’ve never tried crocheted cabling before, even though front- and back-post stitches are some of my favorites. This hat is the product of a free pattern on Ravelry. For the first few rounds, I was regretting my decision to have a hat be my first ever cabling project, but after watching the following short video from HopefulHoney on Youtube, it wasn’t so bad.

Another project that I started working on currently has little to do with crochet: I made a teeny, tiny bed frame out of small strips of balsa wood from Michael’s. I learned several very important things while I made this bed frame: 1) Miter boxes and razor saws are a pain in the ass, 2) Using a miter box and razor saw when your hands are already in pain is a really dumb idea, 3) Measurements must be exact within at least an 1/8 of an inch, and 4) It’s a good thing I’m not a carpenter of human furniture, because I would never be able to sell my stuff (or at least I wouldn’t be able to sell it for very much). In terms of construction, it’s not very good: the bottom of the frame is crooked; the panels in the headboard are different lengths; and I didn’t have a decent clamp to help the wood glue dry more securely, which means it will probably fall apart as soon as too much weight (i.e. more than 6 oz.) is put on it. The good news: the mattress, blanket, and pillow will cover up most of the imperfections, and the combined weight of everything that would likely be put on it probably won’t exceed 2 oz.

So what possessed me to make a teeny, tiny bed frame? Well, I’ve become very interested in the dolls I’ve been making, and I’ve been thinking about cute mini-furniture and other accessories I could make that would look nice on a miniature set.

Yes. I, a childless, almost-30-something adult am thinking about making a doll house.

However, it should be noted that this doll house is not intended for play (god knows that bed frame wouldn’t survive 5 minutes in the hands of a child), but rather for photos. What kinds of photos? The professional answer is that the photos would be to make future dolls more sellable (you know, if I ever pick up Etsy dream again). The whimsical answer is that I could create some sort of illustrated narrative, like weekly Instagram pictures or blog posts about the adventures of one of the dolls. I’m not thinking too much right now about what the ultimate end goal is with my desire to make teeny, tiny furniture. All I know is that I am having fun dreaming up ideas and pushing my crochet abilities farther than ever before.

Leave a Reply

